Directo Al Corazón – Manolito y Su Trabuco


Manolito Simonet formed his Trabuco, or Blunderbuss,

in 1993 following an extended period with the charanga, Maravillas De Florida. At Maravillas he developed a style of Charanga in which the string section started to take on the role of a brass section. This he took with him, and in the Trabuco, along with the innovations of Timba, real brass was added. First released by EGREM in 1995, and licensed to Bembé in 1997, Directo Al Corazón is their first recording. At first sounding like a clean break from the past, closer listening shows elements of La Maravilla have carried into the arrangements.
With its killer strings, a longstanding personal favourite, Perfume, is probably my all timer from the band. Dame Tu Programa is close behind. If Llegó La Música Cubana is for many people the second track of the immensely successful album Marcando La Distancia, it seems to be a variation on Que Te Vaya Bonito, included herein. This also contains vocal harmony reminiscent of Doo-Wop and a fleeting glimpse of Pedroso’s Me Gusta Pero No Puede Ser. The mix works for me. One section of another tasty track, No La Dejes Sola also remind strongly of Tony Vega’s very catchy Amor De Poco Tiempo.
Although a studio recording, several tracks are stretched out as if recorded live. Several also lean towards pop-anthem in melody and harmony, but somehow maintain an easy charm that would be lost by similar material in the 2010’s. Over all, one of their best in my view.
© 2020 TimbaMerchant

Read more
© 1997 Bembé Records

Manolito y Su Trabuco albums

back to Timba & Cuban Salsa

to all physical CDs

*Timbamerchant’s tips below*

  •     01 No La Dejes Sola
  •     02 Dale Tiempo
  •     03 Despues De Ti
  •     04 Perfume
  •     05 Dame Tu Programa
  •     06 Que Te Vaya Bonito
  •     07 Hasta Que Me Olvidas
  •     08 Dueño De Ti
  •     09 Tapaboca
  •     10 No Puedo Con Ella

01 *No La Dejes Sola* 7:12

02 *Dale Tiempo* 4:56

03 *Despues De Ti* 6:19

04 **Perfume** 5:48

05 **Dame Tu Programa** 4:34

06 Que Te Vaya Bonito 5:11

07 Hasta Que Me Olvidas 6:42

08 Dueño De Ti 6:32

09 Tapaboca 5:06

10 *No Puedo Con Ella* 6:44