10 Años – Giraldo Piloto & Klimax | DVD


10 Años is a concert recorded in May 2005 in the

Teatro Nacional to mark the 10th anniversary of Giraldo Piloto’s band, Klimax. Concert footage is interspersed with a few brief talking heads snippets from the likes of Pupy Pedroso, Juan Formell, Chucho Valdés and, would you believe it? Giraldo Piloto himself. There are no subtitles. Guesting onstage you’ll find Pupy and Valdés as well as Robertón, Mandy Cantero, Telmary, Alexander Abreu and many more.
Giraldo Piloto was instrumental in creating Timba at the end of the 1980’s within José Luis Cortés’s NG La Banda. Leaving NG, he went on to write many of the early ’90’s greatest themes, for Issac Delgado and La Charanga Habanera in particular. Extracts of many are included in the medley or  popurrit. This concert also includes several tracks from Klimax’s first three CD’s, much of the best material on the DVD.
Between 2003 and 2011 Klimax was, in my view, struggling to orientate themselves and this concert fell in that period. I’m not sure the extent to which personnel changes played a part in this but I can’t help thinking their front line took a few hits over the years, particularly with the loss of Manuel Denis and Carlos Calunga. The band’s materiel took a dip too.
This concert includes several tracks from the 2004 album, Nadie Se Parece A Ti. The strongest of these is, I think, La Mujer De Mi Vida which shows Klimax in all their bacchanalian glory. At their best, Klimax’s arrangements lead the field and leave most of the competition far, far behind. If you don’t need the security of always knowing what’s coming next or you tire of bland, jazzless horn riffs, Klimax is probably the band for you. As far as I’m concerned, they’re the best in the world. Stage choreography, though, is at times curious, even baffling.
Another class track from Nadie Se Parece A Ti is the final conga, La Chica Perfecta, led by Robertón. It’s testament to what Klimax were capable of even in an “off” period.
© 2019 TimbaMerchant

Read more
92 minutes

Advice: The DVD is entirely in Castilian and has no subtitles.

© 2006 EGREM


to DVDs & video files

to Giraldo Piloto & Klimax 

Only 2 left in stock

  •     10 Años - Giraldo Piloto & Klimax

Concert Tracks

01. Opening 10 Años

02. La Mujer De Mi Vida

03. Get Busy

04. Añorado Encuentro

05. Te Confunde Ser Esa Mujer

06. Popurrit 10 Años

07. Mi Estrella

08. Consejo A Una Amiga

09. Sin Clave Pero Con Swing

10. Cuando Yo Lo Quiera

11. La Mujer Piropo

12. La Chica Perfecta